Typography for the Web

As I stated in my previous entry, web design and designing for print are different playing fields,similar, yet very different. The best way I know how to explain it for those not involved in either field is to think of Cricket and Baseball. They both have the same basic layout, however the details are very different. Both use an object to hit a ball and run bases. However the object to hit the ball is different, the balls are different, and the fields are different, yet you can still use one to explain the other. Although web and print design look similar, they really are not.
Through my research I realized something that should have been obvious from the start, but fonts were not created for the screen. They are created for print, for newspapers and magazines. Most fonts are not created with the web in mind. An example one of my sources shows is when you put a layout that was printed on a poster, on the web, the font is harder to read. The reason for this is because the type is aliased. Here is an example of what this means..

In my research i found that there are various ways to make type more readable on the web. Some of these ways are to change the x-height to make the type more readable, to use fonts in the same family so that there isn’t a lot of contrast in the message or confusion.

Although print designing isn’t “easier” than web designing, print designers most defiantly have different challenges. Hopefully through some practice and more research, I can find type faces I enjoy using when designing pages and understand the relationships with typefaces and the messages they carry.

On Web Typography

Webfonts

Typography Books

5 thoughts on “Typography for the Web

  1. I like your comparison between Web and Print with cricket and baseball. At first I was like – Whaaat? Haha, but once I continued reading it totally made sense. I’m not sure if it is just my computer or not, but your image isn’t showing up. I’d like to see your example though!

  2. Great comparison with the cricket and baseball. I think print has it a little easier than web design. As web designers, we need to worry how our font will change with different browsers. Print doesn’t have that problem, their fonts stay the same.

  3. Love the post. Good comparison to make us understand better. As web designers we have to face different issues when it comes to typography. and it has nothing to do with print haha but that’s the whole beauty that something as simple as font can be so challenging.

Leave a Reply

