Web Design

When designing a web page, one must be aware that there are many different browsers, technologies other than computers, and various qualities of screens that we use to look at the pages. Some believe that designing for the web is less stressful than for print, due to the fact that you can always make tweaks on the page if you notice something you would like to change. But in print, you are stuck. This argument was brought forward by Mark Boulton on his chapter of “Designing for the Web” While he makes a valid point I have to argue why would you want to continually edit something while it is viewable to the public? If I was a user and went to a page where I would go to visit it 10 minutes later and it has some changes, I would become frustrated if this continually happened.
I also think designing for the web would be more difficult than designing for print. When you design, say a magazine cover, you know the dimensions you need, who your target audience audience is, and once you have finished designing it, you can sleep peacefully knowing that everyone will see your design the same way and the way it was intended. As I mentioned before, with the different browsers and technologies accessing the page, Web Designers don’t have the same luxury as those designing for print.
There is a post by Nicholas Holland which is an extreme example of how people believe web designing works. They view it as a simple way to take away or add features without it affecting the rest of the web. Although adding or taking away features may not be easy, designers can create pages that adapt to the user.
Ethan Marcotte explains how designers can design a page that adapts depending on the user. An example he gives is how architects now are able to create homes that change depending on how many people are in a room affecting the temperature and how see through the glass is. I think that this is a great article explaining how we do not have to stress over creating a new “home” for every browser or technology that is used. We can create one “home” and make it so its features will adapt to the different browsers or technologies being used. This truly makes the most sense.
I know that I am new to web designing and coding, so my opinion may change in the future, however regardless if it does or not, these articles were very informative and I hope to keep these ideas and thought in the back of my head.

6 thoughts on “Web Design

  1. I liked your post, and I thought you gave some good sights. I like the top link the most and the section on “the changing browser”. The second link I thought was maybe a little left field, and I got bored reading it and stopped before I got half way down. The third article was good too, I think a lot of us checked that out.

  2. I agree, one of the major differences with web design is the different browsers and such. I think I failed to mention that in my blog, but it is a very good point. I read Marcotte’s article as well, and I also liked his comparison of the house and website. It does make a lot of sense, and I believe I’ll probably think of this again in the future and most likely incorporate it in my work.

  3. Good post. I like how you compare web to print. it is not the same and it will never be. there is just way too many differences. technology is very different in both of these fields. and web has to deal with a completely different list of issues.

  4. Great comparison between the web and print. As web designers we have it harder because different computers have different fonts (for an example). When the magazine is done they don’t need to worry about the font changing depending on who views it. As web designers we do.

  5. I love how you argue about some of the points made from the articles. It shows you do a through reading and have realistic opinions. The contrast you explain also give me a better perspective of what I’m reading. Good job!

  6. What if a website has information that needs updating, such as news, and new information that is constantly being added to keep it fresh? Would you have the same argument against Mark Boulton?

Leave a Reply

